20 Gluten Free Foods to Nourish Your Body
Gluten is a general type of protein found in most of the cereal grains. It is present in wheat, barley, rye, and more. As the name suggests, gluten in food helps maintain its shape as it acts as a glue that holds food together.
Humans have been consuming gluten as long as the bread is known for its existence. It is not really a bad thing except for those who are gluten intolerant or are suffering from celiac disease. If you are looking to adopt a gluten-free diet and wondering what to eat and avoid, here are 20 gluten-free foods to include in your diet:
1. Whole Grains
Except for a few, almost every whole grain is naturally gluten-free. However, some have gluten to provide them with texture and flavor. It is advisable to look for the food labels when purchasing whole grains. This is because when processed in the same facility, naturally gluten-free products can be contaminated with gluten.
The whole grains that are gluten-free and you can add to your diet are brown rice, wild rice, quinoa, buckwheat, millet, gluten-free oats, arrowroot, amaranth, and tapioca. Additionally, you can have beans, corn, granola, cornflakes, and cassava.
Fruits are very good for health. Generally, fruits are naturally gluten-free. However, when fruits are processed for flavoring, they may contain gluten. Fruits (not all) that are canned, frozen, pre-chopped, and dried must be double-checked before purchasing.
Some fruits that you can add to your gluten-free diet are apples, avocados, berries, bananas, peaches, pears, and citrus fruits like oranges and grapefruit. Fruits canned with water or natural juices can be added to the gluten-free diet too. Likewise, plain, and unsweetened dried fruits are gluten-free.
Like fruits, vegetables are naturally gluten-free too. You can cook or eat the vegetables raw (some vegetables like lettuce). But, when you walk out of the fresh vegetables and move to the packaged vegetable aisle, make sure to look for the food label. Some dried and frozen vegetables may have gluten content.
You can add vegetables to your gluten-free diet without any doubt. To list some, green vegetables such as spinach, kale, and beans. You can add other vegetables such as cauliflower, broccoli, mushroom, bell peppers, and onion.
To those on a gluten-free diet, legumes are an excellent source of protein, fiber, and vitamins. Nevertheless, make sure to read labels (especially for canned beans) for additives such as wheat starch or wheat flour and any other gluten-containing ingredients.
Legumes can be freely added to the diet to gain health benefits. Some gluten-free legumes to include but are not limited to are beans, lentils, peas, and peanuts. Kidney beans, black beans, soybeans, and chickpeas are some beans that also do not have any gluten.
5. Nuts and Seeds
When on a gluten-free diet, you can munch on nuts and seeds as snacks. Nuts and seeds are good sources of protein, healthy fats, vitamins, minerals, and fiber. All these are essential for the proper functioning of our bodies.
Nuts like almonds, peanuts, pecans, walnuts, pistachios, cashews, and other natural nuts can be easily munched on anywhere. Similarly, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, flaxseeds, poppy seeds, pumpkin seeds, and sesame seeds are also gluten-free.
Meat, especially the red ones, are great source of protein, vitamins, zinc, and iron. The good news: red meats are gluten-free too. An easy way to obtain nutrients, red meat makes it to the list of gluten-free diets.
Fresh beef, pork, lamb, and bison serve as great gluten-free foods for meat lovers. Other than these, turkey and chicken are also included in the gluten-free food list. While fresh chops are gluten-free, make sure to avoid the ones that are breaded or battered.
7. Fish and Seafoods
Like meats, fish and seafood are also naturally gluten-free. You can choose from a variety of fish and seafood and rotate them on your gluten-free diet. An ideal source of minerals such as iodine, iron, magnesium, potassium, and zinc, fish and seafood make it to the gluten-free food list.
You can have trout, shellfish, salmon, and various other fish and seafood on a gluten-free diet. Choose from a variety of seafood and make a rotation treating your tastebuds. While adding them to your gluten-free diet, make sure they are not breaded and do not contain any marinades. Marinades have gluten content that can lead to severities.
8. Dairy Products
Like other foods discussed above, dairy products are also naturally gluten-free. However, flavored ones must be cross-checked for gluten content. Gluten content in dairy products is malt, thickeners, and modified starch. Lookout for these on the food label as they do not make it to the gluten-free food list.
Unflavored gluten-free dairy products are milk, butter, ghee, cheese, cream, sour cream, and yogurt. However, flavored milk and yogurts, processed cheese products, and ice cream must be double-checked before consuming them on a gluten-free diet. Likewise, the dairy product to avoid is malted milk drinks.
9. Fats and Oils
Fats and oils are naturally gluten-free too. However, in some instances, for flavor and thickening, glutens are mixed with fats and oils. Likewise, be cautious and check the cooking sprays. Some contain flour and additives that prevent the baked goods from sticking.
Gluten-free fats and oils include butter and ghee, avocado oil, olives and olive oil, and coconut oil. Similarly, vegetable and seed oils like sesame oil, sunflower oil, and canola oil are gluten-free too. While oil is essential in some food, make sure to double-check on added flavors and spices.
When some beverages are mixed with additives that contain gluten, some are pure to drink when on a gluten-free diet. There are several types of gluten-free beverages that you can enjoy. From different types of coffee to fruits juices, there are plenty on this list.
There are other beverages that are gluten-free and make it to the gluten-free diet list. The gluten-free beverages are water, coffee, tea, lemonade, and 100% fruit juice. Gluten-free alcoholic beverages include wine, hard ciders, and beer with gluten-free grains. Before you take a sip, cross-check for flavorings, and mix-ins, and gluten-free label.
11. Spices, Sauces, and Condiments
Spices, sauces, and condiments in most cases are gluten-free. However, in some cases, to enhance flavors, and to be used as stabilizers, gluten-containing ingredients are mixed to them. Common gluten-containing ingredients such as wheat starch and wheat flour are added to the spices, sauces, and condiments.
Gluten-free spices, sauces, and condiments include tamari, coconut aminos, and vinegar like white vinegar, distilled vinegar, and apple cider vinegar. On the other hand, you ought to take a second look at ketchup and mustard, tomato sauce, barbecue sauce, dry spices, marinades, salad dressings, and more. Wheat-based soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, and malt vinegar are to be completely avoided on a gluten-free diet.
Chocolates are sweet desserts. It acts as an energy booster and reduces hunger to some extent. Naturally, chocolates are gluten-free. Nevertheless, the processing plant may have products that require add-ins and gluten. In such cases, the risk of contamination is high.
Hence, before purchasing chocolates, you need to look for the labels carefully. Not a nutritious treat, checking for labels saves you from bad reactions if you're sensitive to gluten.
Tofu is a healthy source of plant-based protein. If you are a vegetarian or a vegan on a gluten-free diet, adding tofu to your diet will be beneficial. Tofu is made out of beans so is gluten-free and makes it to the gluten-free food list. However, you would want to take a second look at flavored tofu.
Plain or traditional tofu is gluten-free food made of soybeans, water, and coagulant. In making plain tofu, none of the ingredients such as wheat, barley, rye, or oats are used. Hence, it automatically makes it a food suitable for a gluten-free diet. Have tofu on your diet plan and reap the health benefits.
14. Hard Candy and Gummies
Similar to chocolates, hard candies, and gummies are also naturally gluten-free. Having said that, gluten-free candies are not nutritious than those with gluten. However, if you are on a gluten-free diet, and have a sweet tooth, grab some gluten-free candies and gummies.
The easiest way to find out the gluten content in the hard candies and gummies is to look for the label on the packaging. Avoid the hard candies and gummies that have wheat flour as one of their ingredients. If only you have a sweet tooth, chew on hard candies and gummies, else, it is best to avoid them.
15. Ice Cream, Sherbet, and Gelato
The ingredients in ice cream, sherbet, and gelato make them gluten-free. In general, single-flavored ice cream, sherbet, and gelato are gluten-free. However, when it comes to a mix of baked products such as cookie dough or brownies, they might have gluten content.
The general base for the ice cream is milk and cream which are gluten-free. But when it comes to flavoring and add-ins, there are high risk of gluten contamination. Gluten sources such as colorings, thickeners, and flavorings are found in ice cream, sherbet, and gelato. Thus, to be on the safe side, look at the labels.
There are various sweet dishes that you can have for dessert. Craving for some sweets but are on a gluten-free diet? Worry not, there are various gluten-free desserts that you can get your hands on.
While avoiding grain-based desserts, you can have flourless chocolate cake, chocolate chip baked oatmeal cups, peanut butter balls, dark chocolate almond butter cookies, and more. You can also make pies and tarts filled with custard and tart as a dessert on a gluten-free diet.
Another food that makes to the list of gluten-free foods is eggs. Naturally, eggs are gluten-free. Eggs are a nutrient-dense source of energy. It provides quality protein, and other vitamins and minerals essential to the body.
While eggs are gluten-free foods, the way they are prepared keeps them at risk of contamination. Cross-contact with gluten-involved products contaminates the food. So, when you are to consume eggs in restaurants, feel free to ask for the gluten content. When at home, make sure to avoid cross-contact with gluten-enriched foods to prevent the risk of contamination and allergic reactions.
18. Gluten-Free Flours
The flours in regular use are made of wheat. Fortunately, flour doesn't only come from the wheat. There are other varieties of flours that are gluten-free and can be used in the preparation of gluten-free foods. Each flour comes with a different taste, texture, and nutrient composition.
There are many flours that are gluten-free such as almond flour, brown rice flour, buckwheat flour, corn flour, chickpea flour, and many more. These flours add value to many recipes and help those on a gluten-free diet. However, the flours might be at risk of contamination with gluten when processed.
Asparagus is one of the healthiest vegetables you can have when on a diet. Worry not, it's gluten-free. Asparagus contains potassium which is essential to keep bones, kidneys, heart, and nervous system functioning and healthy. No matter how you eat them, unless contaminated with gluten-involved products, asparagus has various health benefits to offer.
One of the healthiest ways to have asparagus is by cooking it in the oven on high heat. Despite the type of diet you are in, cook it in the oven and have it for numerous health benefits.
Popular Japanese cuisine of vinegared rice makes it to the gluten-free diet list. The variety of sushi that has rice, fish, seaweed, and vegetables make it to the list of gluten-free diets. However, the use of other ingredients deemed unsuitable for the gluten-free diet does not make it to the gluten-free food list.
There are a large number of gluten-free sushi toppings, fillings, and sauces available. So, make sure to have sushi with seaweed or nori, fish and seafood, tofu, vegetables, gluten-free soy sauce, and other gluten-free products. However, omit the sushi with tempura, breadcrumbs, and other sauces deemed to have gluten. Tickle your tastebuds and fulfill cravings with sushi made of gluten-free ingredients.
20 Incredible Food To Boost Your Eyes Health
Maintaining healthy eyesight is crucial for overall well-being. Eating healthy foods beneficial for eye health can help slow down the natural decline of vision keeping your peepers in good shape for longer. Hence, incorporating the right food for the...
15 Home Remedies To Soothe A Sore Throat
A sore throat can be a real pain, making it difficult to swallow, talk, or even breathe. Many people prefer to turn to natural home remedies to soothe their discomfort. From warm saltwater gargles to herbal teas and honey, there are plenty of simple ...
20 Super Seeds You Must Start Eating Today!
Super seeds like chia, flax, and hemp contain essential nutrients, making them a healthy addition. They enhance your energy levels, aid digestion, and promote heart health. Whether sprinkled on salads, mixed into smoothies, or baked into muffins, sup...
20 Bread Spread That Are Easy And Delicious
Applying versatile toppings to bread slices dates back to ancient civilizations, where olive oil and honey adorned bread. Nowadays, myriad spreads cater to diverse tastes, including butter boards, bacon jam, menemen, and apple butter. The evolution o...